The NDA supports the Top Women Awards

By on July 29, 2013

The 10th Annual Top Women Awards, bought to you by Topco Media and Kaya FM, to be held on the 2nd of August 2013 at the Sandton Convention Centre, is promising to be an event not to be missed. 

Entries for this year’s anniversary event has seen a 35% increase in the number of new companies qualifying for entry. This highlights that our public and private sectors are certainly continuing their commitment to breaking the glass ceiling on gender empowerment. And this has had a direct impact on the stringent judging process.

The National Development Agency, a proud supporter of gender empowerment and equality, would like to congratulate the finalists of the 10th annual Top Women Awards for the Civil Society Organisations. This years finalists include Ms Nomakhosazane Sambo – Ikwezi Farming Cooperative, Mrs Mary Langa – Vukuzithathe Community Garden Project and Mrs Mirriam Maupi Matlading – Mapue Garden Project

The National Development Agency has a strong focus on gender empowerment and finds it fitting to align with an award that recognises and celebrates organisations and individuals who have strengthened women’s roles in both the private and public sectors. This form of affiliation cements our drive towards gender equity and economic empowerment and the broader community.

Lunga Mangcu, Executive Director of the National Development Agency, noted: “It was the most phenomenal and yet daunting task to find the best out of the finest! I am moved and challenged by the brilliance displayed. SA has brilliant female entrepreneurs.”

The already sold out event has some of South Africa’s most influential leaders in attendance at the event: Former Deputy President of the Republic of South Africa and current Executive Director of the UNs Gender Equality and Women Empowerment unit, and the Awards keynote speaker, Madam Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka; Executive Mayor of the City of Johannesburg, Mpho Parks Tau; Deputy Minister of the Dti, Elizabeth Thabethe; Minister of Social Development- the honourable Ms Bathabile Olive Dlamin; Deputy Minister of Transport, the honourable Ms Sindisiwe Lydia Chikunga; Group CEO of the SABC, Ms Lulama Mkhob; and Miss South Africa, Marilyn Ramos.



For more information on the event visit

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply